Speaker to convene Party Leaders’ meeting on Jan. 3

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya is scheduled to convene a Party Leaders’ meeting at 12.30 pm on January 3 following the presentation of the Government Policy Statement to decide on the proceedings of the House from January 7, 2020, Parliament said in a press statement.

This decision was taken at a special Party Leaders’ Meeting held in Parliament on December 23 chaired by Speaker Karu Jayasuriya.

Party leaders representing the ruling party had said that the subjects to be debated at the Parliamentary session scheduled would be announced soon.

“The next Parliamentary meeting is scheduled to be held from 1.00 pm to 6.00 pm followed by the inauguration of the Fourth Session of the Eighth Parliament by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa on January 3, 2020.

“Swearing of a new Member of Parliament, officially announcing MP Sajith Premadasa as the Opposition Leader, announcement of the Leader of the House and the Chief Government Whip and presenting of the other announcements of the chair were scheduled for the next Parliament meeting.

“At the meeting, Parliament Secretary General Dhammika Dasanayake and other officials of Parliament have briefed Party Leaders on the agenda and other matters with regard to the festivities of the opening ceremony of the session scheduled for January 3,” the press statement said. The meeting was attended by Deputy Speaker Ananda Kumarasiri, Ministers Nimal Siripala de Silva, Dinesh Gunawardena, Dullas Alahapperuma and Mahinda Amaraweera and MPs Sajith Premadasa, Rauff Hakeem, Mano Ganesan, M.A. Sumanthiran, Ajith P. Perera and Niroshan Perera.

from daily news

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post