Sri Lanka exempted from UK quarantine

Travellers arriving in England, Wales and Northern Ireland from five more countries will soon no longer have to quarantine.

Those coming from Israel, Uruguay, Namibia, Rwanda and Sri Lanka will not need to isolate for 14 days upon arrival in the country.

The quarantine exemption also applies to Jerusalem in its entirety. Also exempt will be travellers arriving from Bonaire, the US Virgin Islands, Sint Eustatius and Saba in the Caribbean, as well as the Northern Mariana Islands in the Pacific region.

The changes come into effect from 4 a.m. on Saturday, as part of the weekly update to so-called “travel corridors”.

No new countries have been added to the quarantine lists. He added: “The advice remains that only essential travel should be undertaken.”

The UK government is responsible for England, while the three devolved administrations across the remaining nations are in charge of their own quarantine lists.

They often meet to discuss what the weekly changes should be and sometimes make the same or similar decisions on which countries to add or remove.

Although the restrictions for some travellers are being eased, anyone arriving in England will still have to follow the “stay at home” rules for the rest of the second national lockdown, ending on 2 December. (Sky)


Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

Sri Lanka's most important news collector. We publish news from the trusted websites in the world.


Post a Comment