NDPP leader Neiphiu Rio takes oath as Nagaland Chief Minister for 5th term

Nagaland’s fifth Chief Minister: Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) leader Neiphiu Rio was sworn in as Nagaland’s fifth Chief Minister on Tuesday.

The ceremony is attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Federal Home Minister Amit Shah, Nagaland Governor La Ganesan, BJP President JP Nadda, and Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma. Taditui Rangkau Zeliang and Yanthungo Patton were also sworn in as Nagaland’s Deputy Chief Ministers.

ECI data says

According to Election Commission of India data, the incumbent Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party-Bharatiya Janata Party regained control in Nagaland, with the two parties securing 37 seats in the 60-member assembly (ECI).

Rio easily won the Northern Angami-II Assembly constituency, defeating Seyievilie Sachu of the Congress by a whopping 15,824 votes. He received 17,045 votes, accounting for 92.87 percent of the votes cast in the seat.

Significantly, Nagaland made history when it elected its first female parliamentarians in the state’s 60-year existence. Prior to Thursday’s election, the state had never had a female MLA in its 13 Assemblies.

The ruling NDPP’s two female legislators, Hekhani Jakhalu and Salhoutuonuo Kruse, defeated the sitting MLAs in Western Angami and Dimapur-III, respectively.

The Northeast state saw a triangular struggle when the Congress and CPIM, longtime enemies, formed a pre-poll coalition to unseat the incumbent BJP.

The post NDPP leader Neiphiu Rio takes oath as Nagaland Chief Minister for 5th term appeared first on News24 English.

, International, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post