IPL 2023: KKR announce Nitish Rana as interim captain in absence of injured Shreyas Iyer

New Delhi: Ahead of forthcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have named Nitish Rana as their captain for the 2023 season. Rana will be lead the side in the absence of injured Shreyas Iyer.

Kaptaan – 𝘠𝘦 𝘵𝘰𝘩 𝘣𝘢𝘴 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘪𝘭𝘦𝘳 𝘩𝘢𝘪. Action begins, 1st April 2023 @NitishRana_27 #AmiKKR #KKR #TATAIPL2023 pic.twitter.com/q6ofcO2WGG

— KolkataKnightRiders (@KKRiders) March 27, 2023

KKR announce on social media

The franchise announced their decision via an Twitter post on Monday, 27 March. KKR shared the note on their social media handle. The two-time champions announcement comes after BCCI sources had revealed to the Indian media that Iyer might opt for a back surgery due to his recurring problems. If a surgery is to happen, Iyer will be ruled out for at least 4-6 months depending on the speed of his recovery.

“we feel fortunate that Nitish, with the captaincy experience having led his state side in white ball cricket and the IPL experience he has had with KKR since 2018, will do a great job. We are also confident that under Head Coach Chandrakant Pandit and the support staff, he will get all the support needed off the field, and the highly experienced leaders in the squad will provide all support that Nitish may need on the field,” KKR said in a statement.

Official statement. @NitishRana_27 #AmiKKR #KKR #Nitish #NitishRana pic.twitter.com/SeGP5tBoql

— KolkataKnightRiders (@KKRiders) March 27, 2023

Rana’s association with KKR

Rana has been roped  with KKR since IPL 2018. So far, the southpaw has played 74 IPL matches for Kolkata, scoring 1,744 runs. Kolkata Knight Riders will kick-off their IPL 2023 campaign with a match against against Punjab Kings on April 1.


Nitish Rana (C), Shreyas Iyer, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Venkatesh Iyer, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shardul Thakur, Lockie Ferguson, Umesh Yadav, Tim Southee, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakravarthy, Anukul Roy, Rinku Singh, N. Jagadeesan, Vaibhav Arora, Suyash Sharma, David Wiese, Kulwant Khejroliya, Litton Das, Mandeep Singh, Shakib Al Hasan.

The post IPL 2023: KKR announce Nitish Rana as interim captain in absence of injured Shreyas Iyer appeared first on News24 English.

, International, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post