By-election result 2023: Counting begins in 5 states including TN, WB, Maharashtra

By-election result 2023: The counting of votes for by-polls to assembly constituency in Arunachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, and two in Maharashtra started on Thursday at 8am. (By-election result 2023)

On Monday, all of these assembly constituencies voted. In Tamil Nadu’s Erode East Assembly by-polls, 77 candidates from various political parties are vying for the valued Assembly seat.

However, the by-poll is primarily between Congress candidate EVKS Elangovan and AIADMK candidate Thennarasu.

Elangovan took part in the by-election with the support of the DMK, which is also Congress’ larger partner in the ruling coalition.

Former Tamil Nadu chief minister Edappadi Palaniswami has an opportunity to emerge as a tall leader and strengthen his hold on the AIADMK following the recent Supreme Court judgement that permitted him to continue at the leadership of the party if the Erode bypoll results go his way.

The AIADMK, however, will face heavy competition from the ruling DMK in the race for the prized seat, with the Naam Tamizlar Katchi (NTK), the Desiya Morpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK), and numerous other parties also in the running.

The bypoll was called because Congress MLA Thirumahan Eveera died unexpectedly.

In Maharashtra, bypolls for the Chinchwad and Kasba Peth assembly seats will be counted.

The fate of the Kasba Peth election will be decided by a two-way fight between the BJP and the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA), with the latter placing Congress candidate Ravindra Dhangekar against the BJP’s Hemant Rasane.

Vitthal Kate of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Ashwini Jagtap of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Independent Rahul Kalate are the candidates in Chinchwad. With the deaths of BJP MLAs Laxman Jagtap from the Chinchwad Assembly constituency and Mukta Tilak from the Kasba Peth Assembly constituency, bye-elections were called.

The death of Trinamool Congress (TMC) politician Subrata Saha in December 2022 forced a by-election to West Bengal’s Sagardighi assembly seat. Debashish Banerjee and Dilip Saha were the TMC and BJP candidates, respectively. Bayron Biswas was the Congress candidate sponsored by the Left.

In the byelections for Jharkhand’s Ramgarh assembly constituency, 18 candidates are running, including 14 independents.

The post By-election result 2023: Counting begins in 5 states including TN, WB, Maharashtra appeared first on News24 English.

, International, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post