Several Parties, SJB MPs stay for Throne Speech

Several Opposition political parties boycotted the ceremonial sitting of the Fourth Session of the Ninth Parliament. Some of the MPs of the said political parties walked out of the Chamber following the commencement of the Throne Speech.

The parties included Samagi Jana Balawegaya and the National People’s Power. Independent factions including Uththara Sabhagaya led by Wimal Weerawansa and Udaya Gammanpila, Independent MPs led by Dallus Alahapperuma and Sri Lanka Freedom Party too boycotted the session. MP Duminda Dissanayake and MP W.D.J. Seneviratne did not leave the Chamber along with the other Opposition MPs.

MPs representing several parties in alliance with Samagi Jana Balawegaya did not leave the Chamber as well. This includes Mano Ganesan,V.Radhakrishnan and S.Udaya Kumar. TNA MPs remained in the Chamber as well.


by Daily News Sri Lanka

, Local, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post