Meghalaya Assembly Election 2023: BJP releases list of candidates for all 60 seats

Meghalaya Assembly Election 2023: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday released its list of candidates for all 60 seats for the Meghalaya Assembly elections 2023. Voting will be held in Meghalaya on February 27 while the results will be declared on March 2. Meghalaya has 60 assembly seats and the support of 31 MLAs is required for a majority.

With the release of candidates list, the BJP made a big claim that the party would form a double engine government in the state. BJP said that their tagline for this election is ‘M Power Meghalaya’.

BJP announces a list of 60 candidates for the upcoming Meghalaya Legislative Assembly election

— ANI (@ANI) February 2, 2023

BJP coalition government in the state (Meghalaya Assembly Election 2023)

Meghalaya has a BJP coalition government under the leadership of Conrad Sangma. Apart from the BJP, the alliance includes the NPP and other parties. In the assembly elections held in the state in 2018, no party got a majority in the results. Last time votes were cast in 59 out of 60 seats in the state. Due to the murder of a candidate in one seat, elections were held later.

BJP reached power despite only two seats

The BJP got only 2 seats in the state assembly elections. Despite this, the party formed the government here through a coalition. Following the results, the BJP formed a government in alliance with the National People’s Party (NPP).


NPP emerged as the second largest party in the state. The party got 19 seats. At the same time, Congress became the largest party in the state with 21 seats. UDP included in other parties got 6 seats.

The post Meghalaya Assembly Election 2023: BJP releases list of candidates for all 60 seats appeared first on News24 English.

, International, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post