IPL 2023: David Warner to lead Delhi Capitals in absence of Rishabh Pant

New Delhi: Delhi Capitals named Australia opener David Warner as their captain for the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. The left-hand batter will lead the Delhi-based franchise in the absence of wicket-keeper batter Rishabh Pant who was sidelined after near-fatal accident few months ago.

Rishabh Pant will miss out entire IPL

Rishabh Pant will miss out from the entire IPL season and as a result, David Warner has been appointed as the skipper of the side. The southpaw had re-joined the franchise in February 2022 after Delhi Capitals secured his services for Rs 6.25 crore.

Warner debuted with Delhi in IPL

Coincidentally, David Warner started his IPL career with Delhi in 2009, and later he went to Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2014, and went on to become their skipper.

Once Again David Warner Back Into Action As a Captain Of Dehli Capitals,
.#DelhiCapitals #DavidWarner #IPL2023 pic.twitter.com/F1DA89Fbs2

— Devil Gaming (@iamdevil_18) February 23, 2023

David Warner record as captain in IPL

David Warner has tasted success as the captain in IPL. In 2015, Sunrisers Hyderabad named him as captain when he led the side from front and finished off as the highest run scorer in the tournament.

In the next season, Warner led the Orange Army to the glory after they were crowned champions in 2016. Warner played the crucial role in the team, and ended up as the second-highest run gatherer in the 2016 season.

He is third in the list of all-time leading run-scorers in IPL. Warner has scored 5,881 runs with the help of 54 fifties and 4 centuries. He will be keen to lead the Delhi-based outfit from the front and guide them to their maiden IPL title.

It should be noted that the IPL 2023 is scheduled to begin on March 31.

Delhi Capitals squad for IPL 2023:

David Warner (C), Prithvi Shaw, Ripal Patel, Rovman Powell, Sarfaraz Khan, Yash Dhull, Mitchell Marsh, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje, Chetan Sakariya, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Khaleel Ahmed, Lungi Ngidi, Mustafizur Rahman, Aman Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Praveen Dubey, Vicky Ostwal, Rilee Rossouw, Manish Pandey, Mukesh Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Phil Salt.

The post IPL 2023: David Warner to lead Delhi Capitals in absence of Rishabh Pant appeared first on News24 English.

, International, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post