Forty more buses received under Indian Credit Line

Another phase of the distribution of new buses given to the Sri Lanka Transport Board (SLTB) under the Indian Credit Line took place on Tuesday at the Lanka Ashok Leyland premises in Panagoda, Homagama.

These new buses are to be distributed to all depots in the island according to a concept of the Transport, Highways and Mass Media Minister Dr. Bandula Gunawardena, to put 500 new buses into operation this year, in order to strengthen public transport in rural areas of the country in conjunction with the 75th Independence Commemoration.

Accordingly, as the third phase of the programme, 40 new buses were handed over to the SLTB depot at Lanka Ashok Leyland Institute premises, Athurugiriya, under the patronage of Minister Dr. Gunawardana.

The Minister said on this occasion that 165 buses received by the country under the Indian loan scheme have been added to the public transport system in the country under three phases, and all 500 new buses will be put into operation before the coming Sinhala and Tamil New Year.

The Minister emphasized that in order to strengthen the passenger transport activities on remote roads covering all the provinces including the North and East, these buses will be given to depots through the chairmen of district coordination committees in the relevant areas to be used on roads that can earn an income adequate to pay back the relevant loan installments.

State Ministers Rohana Dissanayake, Chamara Sampath, and Janaka Wakkambura, Members of Parliament Rajika Wickramasinghe, Gayashan Navananda, Chinthaka Mayadunne, the Chairman of SLTB and representatives of the Ashok Leyland Company and others were present.


by Daily News Sri Lanka

, Local, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post