Journalism Awards for Excellence 2021

Asiri Fernando of ‘Sunday Morning’ Newspaper receives the Journalist of the Year award from the Chief Guest and Editor-in-Chief of the ‘Sunday Island’ Manik De Silva. The President of the Editors’ Guild and Editor-in-Chief of ‘Lankadeepa’ Newspaper Siri Ranasinghe and President of the Sri Lanka Press Institute Kumar Nadesan look on.

The 23rd edition of the Annual Journalism Awards for Excellence took place on Tuesday ( Dec 13) at the Mount Lavinia Hotel.

Editor-in-Chief of the ‘Sunday Island’ newspaper Manik de Silva graced the occasion as the Chief Guest. This year 34 journalists received awards and 17 received Certificates of Merit.

At the ceremony, ‘Life Time Achievement Awards’ were presented to five senior journalists namely Daya Lankapura, A.D. Ranjith Kumara, Ponniah Manikavasagam, Chitra Weerarathne and P.B. Elangasinha.The programme was organized by the Editors Guild of Sri Lanka in partnership with the Sri Lanka Press Institute.

Pictures by Sulochana Gamage

PDF File:

by Daily News Sri Lanka

, Local, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post