Tamil Parties demand solution for Tamils

A decision has been taken among the Tamil parties to draft a new constitution for thedecentralisation of power to the Tamil people based on the federal system. The Tamil Parties have taken decisions regarding the matters to be emphasized during the meeting with President Ranil Wickremesinghe regarding providing solutions to the ethnic problem. 

This decision was taken at a meeting held in Colombo on Friday under the chairmanship of Tamil National Alliance (TNA) leader R. Sampanthan.

Moreover, it is also special that the Tamil parties have come to an agreement to force the government on matters such as the release of Tamil people’s land, the holding of provincial

council elections, and the decentralisation of power.

President Ranil Wickremesinghe had announced that he would discuss with the Tamil parties regarding the solution of the ethnic problem.

Apart from that, the President has also said that an all-party conference will be convened on the 11th after the budget proposals of the Parliament are completed regarding the decisions to be the solutions to the ethnic problem.

In this situation, the Tamil parties gathered in Colombo to present their demands in the discussions with President Ranil to present the aspirations of the Tamil people.

Tamil National Alliance leader In this meeting chaired by Sampanthan, it was said that the taking lands of Tamil people should be stopped and the seized lands should be released immediately, the constitution and the laws related to the decentralisation of powers should be implemented

and the provincial council elections should be held immediately, and on top of that a new constitution should be created.

It was unanimously decided that decentralisation of power based on the federal system in the North-Eastern region, where the Tamil people have historically lived on internal self- determination, as well as its implementation in other parts of the country, is highly acceptable.

Former MP Mavai Senadhiraja, MPs Selvam Adhikalanathan, Dharmalingam Siddharthan, M.A.Sumanthran, C.V. Wigneswaran, Govindham Karunakaran, Vino Nogarathalingam, S.Siridharan, former MP Suresh Premachandran participated in the meeting held on Friday.


by Daily News Sri Lanka

, Local, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post