Kishore Reddy – President, Sri Lanka-India Society

6 November, 2022
The new office-bearers with the Indian HC Gopal Baglay.

Kishore Reddy was unanimously re-elected as president of the Sri Lanka India Society (SLIS) for 2022/23 at its annual general meeting at the Taj Samudra Hotel recently.

High Commissioner of India to Sri Lanka, Gopal Baglay appreciated the work done by the oldest and biggest friendship society under the leadership of Reddy and said that it is the work done by the society had been bringing the people of Sri Lanka and India together.

He reiterated India’s support to Sri Lanka not just as a friend and the closest neighbour but also as a cultural twin who shares a very similar socio-cultural and religious relationship based on the principles of Dharma and the concept of ‘Sahadeva Kutumbakam’ (the world is one family). While both countries celebrate 75 years of Independence, SLIS is also entering its 75th year of formation. However, the relationship between the people of the two countries goes beyond thousands of years of written history.

The newly appointed President of SLIS said that members have actively participated in events organised by the Indians in Colombo and the Indian CEO forums such as Holi and Diwali. Indians residing in the city also participated in the SLIS events which is a testimony to the cross-cultural participation with the aim of developing stronger bonds between the countries.

Reddy appreciated the assistance and guidance provided by Kaushalendra Kumar, the counsellor and the entire team of the High Commission of India in Sri Lanka.

SLIS consists of Sri Lankan and Indian nationals. The society’s patron is Baglay and has been working closely with the Office of the Indian High Commission in Sri Lanka.

The vice patrons of the society are Tilak De Soyza, Chandra Shafter and Kumar Nadesan.

The society’s office-bearers for 2022/23 are: President Kishore Reddy; Vice Presidents: Renganathan, Dr. A. Kandasamy, and Deshabandu Jaykumar; Secretary: Kailasapillai; Asst. Secretary: Chaturi Ranasinghe; Treasurer: Saravanan Neelakandan; Asst. Treasurer: S. Shameer and Editor Sumit Law. Fourteen Sri Lankan and 10 Indian members will also serve on the Executive Committee.

– Sunday Observer Sri Lanka

, Business, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post