Case against 25 accused fixed for order on November 24

The case filed against the 25 accused including Nawfer Moulavi in connection with Easter Sunday terror attacks that took place on April 21, 2019 was yesterday fixed for order on November 24, whether to grant bail to the accused by the Colombo High Court Trial-at-Bar. When the case was taken up before the Bench comprising Colombo High Court Judges Damith Thotawatte, Amal Ranaraja and Navaratne Marasinghe, Additional Solicitor General Haripriya Jayasundara appearing on behalf of the Attorney General informed the Court that there are no amendments to the indictment at the moment.Following that the Pre-Trial-Conference of the case commenced and the Flash Drives and DVDs which contained the computer evidence which were expected to be produced before the Court regarding the case was handed over to Court and the defence by ASG Haripriya Jayasundara.

ASG Jayasundara also sought from the Court to give sufficient time to the defence to examine the computer evidence as those storage devices contain a large amount of data related to the case.

Considering the circumstances, the Colombo High Court Trial-at-Bar granted 45 days to the defence from the next hearing to examine the computer evidence.

The defence also filed bail applications seeking bail to the all accused and its order will be given on next hearing.

The case was fixed for further Pre-Trial-Conference on November 24 by the Colombo High Court Trial-at-Bar.During the course of the case, the Court premises received heavy Police and STF guard and all the accused were brought to Court amid tight security. Indictments have been filed in connection with 8 attacks on Kochchikade St.Anthony’s Shrine, Katuwapitiya St. Sebastian’s Church, The Kingsbury Hotel, Shangri-La Colombo, Cinnamon Grand Colombo, Batticaloa Zion Church, Dehiwala Tropical Inn against 25 accused.Mohammed Ibrahim Mohammed Nawfar alias Nawfer Moulavi, Mohammed Saribu Adam Lebbe (Abu Hadik), Hayathu Mohammed Milhan (Abu Zillah), Mohammed Ibrahim Sadiq Abdullah (Abu Umar), Mohammed Ebrahim Abdul Haq (Abu Fala) , Mohammad Anwar Mohammad Riskan (Abu Tariq), Mohammad Mansoor Mohammad Sanasdeen (Abu Misan), Abdul Manaf Mohammad Piridavus, Mohammad Ramish Mohammad Zarik, Abdul Latif Mohammad Safi (Safi Moulavi/Abu Furqan), Husseinul Rizvi Mohammad Kahir Samir, Mohammad Zawheer Mohammad Hassan (Abu Dawood), Mohammad Iftikhar Mohammad Insaf (Abu Mohammad), Rashid Mohamed Ibrahim, Mohammed Hanifa Zainul Abdin (Abu Hina), Mohamed Mustafa Mohamed Haris (Abu Nanjiar), Yassin Bawa Abdul Rauf, Rasik Raza Hussain, Kachchi Mohamed Jasmine, Zainul Abdeen Mohamed Jaseen, Mohamed Mustafa Mohamed Rizwan, Meera Saheed Mohamed Nafli (Abu Sana), Mohamed Amin Ayantullah, Mohamed Ansar Deen Hilmi and Mohamed Akram were indicted by the Attorney General in the High Court.Indictments were filed against the accused under the Prevention of Terrorism Act comprising 23,270 charges including charges of conspiracy, preparation, aiding and abetting, collection of explosives and weapons, murder and attempted murder.

by dailynews sri lanka

, Security, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post