T20 World Cup: Ireland announces ‘one of the strongest’ 15-members squad 

New Delhi: Ireland has announced a 15-members ahead of the T20 World Cup and Andrew Balbirine will be the leader of the side. 

Chair of National Men’s Selectors, Andrew White shared his opinion on the matter and said, “It’s an exciting time for Irish cricket as we embark on another major global tournament. Over the last year we have been building a solid core squad, while creating more depth in our T20 cricket.

Ireland’s squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 is out

Details https://t.co/CI2pWn5sbq

— ICC (@ICC) September 20, 2022

One of the strongest T20 Squad – White

 “I think fans have started to see the positive strides the players have been making in this format – especially with the series win over Afghanistan – and we hope we can take this momentum into the tournament in Australia.”

“We believe this is one of the strongest T20 squads we have sent to a World Cup and wish the team and coaching staff well for the tournament ahead,” he added.

Ireland to start against Zimbabwe

Ireland will take on Zimbabwe in the opening game and will continue their to campaign to fight against Scotland and West Indies from their groupat Bellerive Oval in Hobart. Only top two teams will progress to the Super 12 stage of the tournament. 

Ireland T20 World Cup squad: 

Andrew Balbirnie (c), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Fionn Hand, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, Conor Olphert, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.

The post T20 World Cup: Ireland announces ‘one of the strongest’ 15-members squad  appeared first on News24 English.

, International, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post