Droupadi Murmu takes oath, becomes 15th President of India

Droupadi Murmu Swearing-in: Droupadi Murmu took oath as the 15th President of the country. Droupadi Murmu is the first tribal woman in the country to become the President. Droupadi Murmu was administered the oath in the Central Hall of Parliament. Chief Justice NV Ramana administered the oath of office.

Droupadi Murmu is the first person born after independence and the youngest person to hold the top post. Murmu is the second woman President of the country after Pratibha Patil.

A 21-gun salute was given to Droupadi Murmu after the swearing-in.


Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, members of the Council of Ministers, Governors, Chief Ministers, heads of diplomatic missions, Members of Parliament and key government officials are present at the ceremony.


“I have been born in that tribal tradition which has carried on life in harmony with nature for thousands of years. I have realized the importance of forests and water bodies in my life. We take necessary resources from nature and serve nature with equal reverence. In my life so far, I have experienced the meaning of life in public service,” Droupadi Murmu said at the ceremony.

Droupadi Murmu had secured more than 64 per cent valid votes in the counting of ballots of MPs and MLAs including the electoral college to become the new President of the country. Sh won by a huge margin against the opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha.

Returning Officer PC Modi said she had secured 6,76,803 votes as against Sinha’s 3,80,177 votes.


All the MLAs except one MLA from Kerala voted for Sinha while Droupadi Murmu got all the votes from Andhra Pradesh. She is the first president to be born after independence and the youngest to hold the top post. She is also the second woman to become president.

The post Droupadi Murmu takes oath, becomes 15th President of India appeared first on News24-English.

, International, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post