Rajya Sabha polls: 8 BJP candidates file nomination from UP in CM Adityanath's presence


As many as 8 Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates on Tuesday filed thier nominations for the Rajya Sabha elections in the presence of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

BJP candidates including saffron party’s OBC Morcha national president K Laxman, former BJP state chief Laxmikant Vajpayee, Mithilesh Kumar, Radha Mohan Das Aggarwal, Surendra Singh Nagar, Baburam Nishad, Darshana Singh and Sangeeta Yadav filed their nominations today. 

Along with Adityanath, Deputy Chief Ministers Brajesh Pathak and Keshav Prasad Maurya also accompanied the Chief Minister. 

Rajya Sabha elections are being held over as many as 57 seats across 15 states that includes Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka and other states. The polls became mandatory as many Rajya Sabha leaders will retire between June and August.

Uttar Pradesh has the maximum number of share in the Upper House. This year, the polls are scheduled to be held on 11 seats of Rajya Sabha polls. 

The states where these biennial elections will be held are Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Odisha, Maharashtra, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Bihar, Jharkhand and Haryana.

The Election Commission of India said the notification for the biennial elections has been issued on May 24, 2022, while the last date for making nominations is May 31, 2022.

The last date for withdrawal of candidature is June 3, 2022. The counting of votes will be held on June 10, after the polling process gets over, the ECI statement read. 

(With inputs from ANI)


, International, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post