Football Writers' Association announce Mohamed Salah, Sam Kerr 'Footballers of the Year'

New Delhi: 

The c

aptain of the Egyptian national team and Liverpool FC forward Mohamed Salah has been voted the ‘Footballer of the Year’ for the second time, along with the captain of the Australian women’s national team and Chelsea striker Sam Kerr who won ‘Women’s Footballer of the Year’ by the Football Writers’ Association.

Liverpool forward player Salah obtained 48 percent of the vote beating Kevin De Bruyne and Declan Rice, who finished second and third in the poll. It is the second time Salah won the award in 2018. Chelsea forward, Sam Kerr obtained 40 percent of the vote defeating Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema and Lauren Hemp of Manchester City in second and third place respectively. 

FWA chair, Carrie Brown, said, “Both Mo and Sam have been outstanding this season, breaking records for both club and country. As well as their performances on the pitch, they are leaders and standard-bearers of excellence at their clubs and respective leagues.” 

“The fact they have won by such convincing margins underlines just how impressive they have been this season which has been recognised by our members.” 

In the Footballer of the Year award, Liverpool and Manchester City dominated. Salah and eight other of his teammates won votes while six Manchester City players were recognised, including De Bruyne. In total, 31 players from 12 different clubs won votes. 

It is the first time the vote for the Women’s Footballer of the Year has been open to the full FWA membership, having previously been decided by an expert panel. 

There was an even wider spread of votes, with 34 different players recognised in the poll with Chelsea and Manchester City dominating. Chelsea had 10 players represented while six Manchester City players received votes. 

Salah and Kerr will receive their awards at the ‘Footballer of the Year Dinner’ on May 5. 

(With inputs from ANI)


, International, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post