Punjab Election Result 2022: Amarinder Singh loses in former bastion Patiala

Patiala (Punjab):

Amarinder Singh has lost from his former stronghold of Patiala even as counting of votes for the Punjab Assembly Election continues on Thursday. The former CM had separated from the Congress to form his own party, the Punjab Lok Congress.

The Aam Aadmi Party’s (AAP) Ajit Pal Singh Kohli has won the Patiala seat.

As of 12 noon, the



is leading in 90 leads – a clear majority in the 117-seat Punjab assembly.

The Congress is leading in 18 seats, the SAD in 6 and the BJP in 2.

Quadrangular clash in Punjab

This time in Punjab, a quadrangular contest was witnessed between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Congress, BJP alliance and Shiromani Akali Dal and BSP alliance. The BJP alliance includes former Chief Minister Capt Amarinder Singh’s party Punjab Lok Congress and Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa’s party Shiromani Akali Dal (United). In this election, the Congress has made its CM face Charanjit Singh Chandrani while the CM face of Aam Aadmi Party is Bhagwant Mann. On behalf of the Shiad-BSP alliance, Sukhbir Singh Badal is being considered as the CM face.

Candidates of the parties


Aam Aadmi Party-117




Punjab Lok Congress-34

SAD (joint) – 15

United Social Front-117

SAD (Amritsar) – 86

Lok Insaf Party-34


Others- 29

Read More:-

UK Election Result 2022 Live: Who will be crowned in Uttarakhand? Get fastest updates here

Election results will be declared on March 10

It is noteworthy that in the 2017 elections, the Congress party had formed its government by winning 77 seats. On the other hand, Aam Aadmi Party emerged as the main opposition party by winning 20 seats for the first time. The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) had got 15 seats while the BJP got three seats. Independent candidates had won two seats. 

After the election results, the Congress had appointed Captain Amarinder Singh as the Chief Minister, but in September last year, the Congress removed Captain Amarinder and made Charanjit Singh Channi the Chief Minister. Angered by this, Captain Amarinder Singh left the Congress and formed his new party.

Result of 2017 assembly elections

Punjab – 117 seats


Aam Aadmi Party-20

Akali Dal-15


Others- 2

Read More :- 

Latest India News

Latest India News


, International, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post