Dialog Axiata powers 71st Battle of the Golds

At the sponsorship presentation – From left: Rev. Fr Herman Eranga – Middle School In-charge, St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa, Rev. Fr. Samesh Anthony – Prefect of Games, St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa, Rev. Fr. Sharm Dassanayake – Vice Rector, St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa, Rev. Fr. Sanjeewa Mendis – Rector, St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa, Lasantha Theverapperuma – Group Chief Operating Officer, Dialog Axiata PLC, Dimuthu Derannagoda – Principal, Prince Of Wales’ College, Moratuwa, Preethi Kumara Fernando – Chairman Big Match Committee, Prince Of Wales’ College, Moratuwa, Mahinda Jayaweera – Secretary Old Boys Association, Prince Of Wales’ College, Moratuwa and Sisira Chandrapala – Secretary Big Match Organizing Committee, Prince Of Wales College, Moratuwa.

After a lapse of two years of Big Match Cricket, Sri Lanka’s premier connectivity provider, Dialog Axiata PLC, has come forth once again to power the 71st edition of the Battle of the Golds encounter between archrivals, St. Sebastian’s College and Prince of Wales’ College, Moratuwa.

The 2021 edition of the ‘Battle of the Golds’ is scheduled to be played at De Soysa Stadium, Moratuwa with spectators to the capacity of 50% on 14 and 15 January 2022, and the eagerly anticipated 50-over game, to be played for the 36th occasion this year, is scheduled to be played on the following day at the same venue.

The coaches of the teams, support staff, umpires and match-officials will operate from a bio-secure environment for 7 days strictly in adherence to COVID-19 protocols under the supervision of the Regional Health Services.

The Cambrians will be led by middle order batsman, Dinura Fernando while the Sebastianites will play under the captaincy of wicket keeper of the side, Sukitha Prasanna.

Cricketers from both schools have represented the game at the highest level, including 1996 World Cup winner Romesh Kaluvitharana and Sri Lanka Captain Duleep Mendis.

The current players representing Sri Lanka include Oshada Fernando, Vishwa Fernando, Avishka Fernando, Praveen Jayawickrama and Amila Aponsu, all of whom are from St. Sebastian’s and Kusal Mendis and Lahiru Thirimanne are from Cambrians.

As the principal sponsor, Dialog Axiata has made arrangements to LIVE stream the Limited Overs match via thepapare.com, Dialog VIU mobile app and will also be shown live on Dialog TV Channel 140.

The tally between the two schools presently stands at six wins for the Cambrians and three wins for the Sebastianites. St. Sebastian’s College is the present holder of the cup, having last won it in 2011 under the captaincy of Sanitha De Mel. In the last encounter, the two-day Big Match ended in a tame draw, while the Cambrians secured a hard-fought five run victory (D/L) at the rain disturbed one day encounter.

In the limited over encounters, the Sebastianites lead with 17 wins to the Cambrians’ 15 with one tie and two abandoned games.

by Daily News Sri Lanka

, Sports, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post