Tag Rugby Fiesta at Nittawela

According to the Secretary of Central Province Rugby Football Union Kavinda Jayasena, a Tag rugby fiesta will take place on 8th January 2022 at the

Nittawela grounds. According to him registration is now open and the closing date is December 20 (Monday).

The team entries should be emailed to cprugbyfootballunion@gmail.com. The prize money of Rs.50,000 up for grabs and the entry fee per team is Rs. 5000. For more details contact Kavinda Jayasena the Secretary on 077 371 0555.

Tag rugby is a brilliant mixed social game, suitable for all shapes, sizes, ages and sporting abilities, where guys and girls play together in a competitive environment. Tag Rugby is a minimal contact team game in which each player wears shorts with Velcro patches with two tags attached to them. The mode of play is similar to rugby league or touch rugby with attacking players attempting to dodge, evade and pass a rugby ball while defenders attempt to prevent them scoring by “tagging” – pulling a Velcro attached tag from the ball carrier. Seven players in each team are allowed on the field at a time, whilst the field dimensions are 70m by 50m. The attacking team has six players or tags to try to score a try or take the ball down field as close to the line as possible. Tries are worth one point and there are no conversions.. In mixed Tag Rugby, female tries are worth three points.

The Central Province Rugby Football Union (CPRFU) is the governing body for rugby union in CentralProvince, which was established in 1992 and is conducted in accordance with the SLRFU guidelines and constitution.. At its peak in 2002 the CPRFU included top clubs Kandy SC, Dimbula Athletic & Cricket Club, Dickoya Maskeliya CC,Peradeniya University, OTSC and Kandy Youth, all of whom have at one time or another competed in the SLRFU ‘A Division competition. The CPRFU also embarked in forming ‘B’ division clubs, which included Katugastota Rugby Football Club, Polgolla Rugby Football club,Mawilmada Rugby Football Club, Matale Rugby Football Club, Nuwaea Eliya RugbyFootball Club and Pilimatalawa Rugby Football Club and by 2008 had 18 clubs playing in the up-country rugby league.

There were 48 schools in the Central Province engaged in rugby apart from the Schools Association schools teams, Trinity, Kingswood, St. Anthony’s, Dharmaraja, Vidyartha. St. Syvester’s.Sri Sumangala, Sri Rahula. 

by Daily News Sri Lanka

, Sports, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post