Jaffna Kings secure easy eight-wicket win over Dambulla Giants

Jaffna Kings recorded an easy eight-wicket win over Dambulla Giants with 45 balls to spare in their LPL cricket fixture played at the R. Premadasa International cricket stadium yesterday.

Dambulla Giants decided to bat first but their batters were unable to make good contributions to build up the innings. Most of the batters threw away their wickets; ultimately was bowled out for 110 runs in 19.3 overs. Jaffna Kings reached their target with the loss of only two wickets in just 12.3 overs.

It was a fine effort made by Jaffna Kings’ two main spinners Wanindu Hasaranga and Maheesh Theekshana, both took three wickets each to grapple with the opponent’s innings with three balls to finish their 20 overs. Dambulla Giants batters were unable to make a good combination from the start with the first three wickets falling just 26 runs in five overs with spinner Theekshana and paceman Suranga Lakmal struck from the beginning.

The youngster Nuwanidu Fernando top-scored with 23 runs for the Dambulla team, while spinners Theekshana 3 for 22 and Hasaranga 3 for 16 did most of the damage well supported by two paceman Suranga Lakmal and Jaydan Seales both, took two wickets each.

Jaffna Kings chasing their target, opener Avishka Fernando scored 33 with three sixes and a four in 27 balls while Tom Kholer-Cadmore played an unbeaten 45 in 30 balls with five fours and two sixes added 63 runs the second wicket stand while experience Shoaib Malik 26 not out in just ten balls hit three sixes seal their victory without much effort. Maheesh Theekshana was named man of the match for his fine bowling figures.

Jaffna Kings came to this game after defeating their first game against Galle Gladiators but they used their good team effort to get the first win of the tournament yesterday.

Chief scores

Dambulla Giants: 110 all out in 19.3 overs (Phil Salt 13, Nuwanidu Fernando 23, Dasun Shanaka 13, Chamika Karunaratne 18, Ramesh Mendis 14, Merchant de Lange 13, Maheesh Theekshana 3/22, Suranga Lakmal 2/28, Wanindu Hasaranga 3/16,Jaydan Seales 2/23)

Jaffna Kings: 114/2 in 12.3 overs (Avishka Fernando 33, Tom Kholer-Cadmore 45*, Shoaib Malik 26*, Imran Thahir 1/20, Nuwan Pradeep 1/39)


by Daily News Sri Lanka

, Sports, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post