T20 WC: Australia win the toss, chose to field first


Aaron Finch has won once again the toss, 6th time in the tournament out of the total 7 coins he flipped. Australia has come out victorious in every game when the skipper won the coin flip; the only toss Finch lost was against England, which did not end up in a game win for Australia.

The final is what matters and this is what Australia and New Zealand will try to win, marking their maiden World Cup crowning.

The Trans-Tasman rivals have never won the T20I crown; little apt to think about it, Kiwis skipper Kane Williamson is excited for both the teams who are playing in the Dubai, World Cup Final, from the other side of the world.

Williamson after the toss


We would have fielded as well. It looks like a reasonable wicket and who knows about the dew. We have one obvious change: 

Conway is out and Seifert is in

. It is a shame that he misses but as a team we have to move on and focus on the challenge at hand. Mitch Santner is a world-class operator and it didn’t quite work out in the match the other night. We don’t want to look too far ahead and we just need to make a few small adjustments.”

Finch said, “The way we hung in the contest and take it deep was crucial for us. Zampas has been superb for a while in the shortest format, and hopefully that will continue. It is a new format, a new team and our record over NZ doesn’t matter at all”.



New Zealand

 (Playing XI): Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Kane Williamson(c), Tim Seifert(w), Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult


 (Playing XI): David Warner, Aaron Finch(c), Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade(w), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood


, International, ,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post