Concession period for cinema theatre owners to settle unpaid electricity bills

Sri Lanka National Film Corporation announces that the Minister of Power and Energy Dullas Alahapperuma has agreed to grant a one year grace period for cinema theater owners to settle due electricity bills with the aim of providing relief for their financial difficulties caused by the closure of cinema theatres from March 2020 due to Covid-19 virus outbreak.

Sri Lanka National Film Corporation further states that the decision was taken at a meeting between the Chairman of the National Film Corporation, Dr. Jayantha Dharmadasa and the Power and Energy Minister Dullas Alahapperuma held on the instructions of Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, Minister of Buddha Sasana, Religious and Cultural Affairs.

Accordingly, this will provide an opportunity to settle the unpaid cinema theatre electricity bills concerning the period from March to December 2020 in 12 months (in 12 equal installments).

Minister Dullas Alahapperuma has instructed the Ceylon Electricity Board and the Lanka Electricity Company not to disconnect electricity due to arrears during this period.

Requests made by the Association of Film Exhibitors and challenges faced by Cinema Theatre owners including long-term inactivation of technical tools such as digital projectors during the Covid-19 pandemic situation were considered while making this decision.

Accordingly, around 194 Cinema Theatres Island wide registered with the National Film Corporation are eligible for this electricity bill concession.

The cinemas which were closed due to Covid 19 outbreak will be reopened from January 1, 2021.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post