Writ petitions filed by Ravi, six others fixed for argument

The writ petitions filed by former Finance Minister Ravi Karunanayake and six others in connection with the issuance of Treasury Bonds in March 2016 were yesterday fixed for argument by the Court of Appeal. The Court of Appeal two-judge-Bench comprising Justice (President) A.H.M.D. Nawaz and Justice Sobhitha Rajakaruna fixed the seven writ petitions to be taken up for argument on December 18.

Senior Deputy Solicitor General Milinda Gunatilleke appearing for the Attorney General informed the Court that he is filing objections against the petitions. The petitioners were directed to file their counter objections on or before October 13.

At a previous occasion, the Court of Appeal had issued an Interim Order staying the operation of arrest warrants issued by Colombo Fort Magistrate against former Finance Minister Ravi Karunanayake and six others in connection with the issuance of Treasury Bonds in March 2016.

This Interim Order will be effective until the final determination of the writ petitions.

The seven petitioners who had been named as the suspects in the Magistrate’s Court former Finance Minister Ravi Karunanayake, PTL beneficiary owner Arjun Aloysius, PTL Chiefdealer Kasun Palisena, PTL Chairman Jeffrey Joseph Aloysius, Chitta Ranjan Hulugalle, S. Pathumanapan and Indika Saman Kumara had filed these writ petitions challenging Colombo Fort Magistrate’s decision to issue a warrant against them.

In his petition, Ravi Karunanayake has been named Attorney General, Acting IGP C.D. Wickramaratne, SSP Ampavila, Fort Magistrate Ranga Dissanayake and OIC attached to the Financial Investigation Unit of CID as respondents.

The petitioner Karunanayake stated that the Bond Commission appointed to investigate Treasury Bond issuance never questioned the petitioner regarding the meeting held on March 28, 2016 and March 30, 2016 and any alleged link between the said meetings and the lease of the apartment.

President’s Counsel Faisz Musthapha with Rienzie Arsecularatne PC, Shavendra Fernando PC and Counsel Udara Muhandiramge appearing for the petitioner Ravi Karunanayake.

President’s Counsel Navin Marapana with Counsel Thanuja Meegahawatte, Uchitha Wickremesinghe and Kaushalya Molligoda under the instruction of Sanath Wijewardena appeared for Arjun Aloysius.

Counsel Manoj Bandara with Sudath Perera appeared for Badugoda Hewa Indika Saman Kumara.


from daily news
Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

Sri Lanka's most important news collector. We publish news from the trusted websites in the world.


Post a Comment