BASL appoints 16-member committee to study 20th Amendment

The Bar Association of Sri Lanka (BASL) has appointed a special committee to study the proposed 20th Amendment to the Constitution.

The committee comprises of President’s Counsel (PC) Nihal Jayamanne as the Chairman, Shantha Jayawardena as the Convenor, and lkram Mohamed, PC, M.M. Zuhair, PC, L.M.K. Arulanandam, PC, Prasantha Lal De Alwis, PC, Nihal Jayawardene, PC, Nalin Ladduwahetty, PC, Maithri Wickramasinghe, PC, Uditha Egalahewa, PC, Anura Meddegoda, PC, Mohan Weerakoon, PC, S.T. Jayanaga, PC, Priyal Wijayaweera, PC, Maurapada Gunawansha, PC, and Ravi Algama as members.

President of BASL Kalinga Indatissa PC said the Association being a professional body cannot take decisions on emotions or based on political lines.

The Bar consists of many eminent persons who can constructively review all proposed legislation. The recommendations of the Committee will be placed before the Bar Council which is the supreme body of the BASL, he said via Facebook.

Kalinga Indatissa PC added that all members have been informed to submit their views before the 21 September. (NewsWire)

The post BASL appoints 16-member committee to study 20th Amendment appeared first on NewsWire.

from News – NewsWire
Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

Sri Lanka's most important news collector. We publish news from the trusted websites in the world.


Post a Comment