President to ceremonially declare open Parliamentary session

The Fourth Session of the Eighth Parliament will be ceremonially declared open on January 3 at 10am under the patronage of the President Gotabhaya Rajapaksa.

The President is scheduled to chair the inaugural meeting at 10.00 a. m and the statement of the new Government's policy. The President will adjourned the Parliamentary Session following the presenting of the policy statement.

Given that Article 70 (1) of the Constitution gives the President the power to rescind Parliament, the President decided to end the term of Parliament issuing a special gazette notification on the 2nd of December 2019.

The arrival of the members of Parliament will take place first followed by the arrival of the Speaker of Parliament Karu Hayasuriya, Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapakse and the

President Gotabhaya Rajapakse, Speaker Karu Jayasuriya and the Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayaka will welcome the President Gotabhaya Rajapakse at the main staircase of the Parliament building followed by hoisting of the National flag by the President. Proceeding forth, the 21 gun salute will take place in honour of the President.

The President will be accompanied House of Parliament by the Serjeant-at-Arms, Deputy Serjeant-at-Arms, Assistant Serjeant-at-Arms followed by the Speaker of Parliament and the Secretary General of Parliament where the session will be ceremonially declared open.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post