Twenty two new PCs take Silk

Twenty two attorneys took their oaths as President’s Counsel (PC) at a ceremonial sitting of the Supreme Court yesterday.

The oaths taking ceremony was held before Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya PC and the judges of apex courts, Colombo High Courts, Colombo District Courts and Colombo Chief Magistrate’s Courts.

The swearing-in as President’s Counsel is also known as taking Silk. President Maithripala Sirisena being well satisfied of loyalty, integrity and ability of 22 attorneys, had recently appointed the following Attorneys as President’s Counsel. They are: 1. Nalin Rohantha Abeysuriya 2.

Francis Anthony Mary Winston Perera 3. Swarna Arachangella Perera 4. Manappullige Jayasinghe 5. Aboobacker Admani Mohamed Illiyas 6. Don Alexander Piyasena Weeraratne 7. Nalina Sridhammika Bandara Disanayaka 8. Thenuwara Hennedige Don Eran Chanaka Silva 9.

Nanayakkara Wasampalliage Maurapada Gunawansha 10. Induruwe Wadumestrige Nalinda Dammika Indatissa 11.

Weeratnemulla Gamage Sanath Weeratne 12. Vishtasp Kairshasp Choksy 13. Senanayake Archchige Sumith Chandrasiri Senanayake 14. Jayanath Avindra Gran Rodrigo 15. Kapila Amaranath Manamperi 16. Jagath Sanjeewa Wickramanayake 17. Mohamed Farman Jehan Cassim 18. Gajanayaka Kankenamalage Vasantha Ranjith 19. Mohottige Upali 20. Edirisinghe Mudiyanselage Seevalie Indrajith Amitirigala 21.

Navin Surath Marapana 22. Tirimadura Sampath Mendis.

President’s Counsel is a professional rank and status conferred to the appointee by the President under Article 33 (cc) of the Constitution. According to the Constitutional provision, Attorneys-at-Law who have reached eminence in the profession and have maintained high standards of conduct and professional rectitude are appointed as President’s Counsel by President.

The Constitution states every President’s Counsel appointed under this provision shall be entitled to all privileges as were hitherto enjoyed by a Queen’s Counsel.




from daily news
Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

Sri Lanka's most important news collector. We publish news from the trusted websites in the world.


Post a Comment