President appoints 21 new President's Counsel

President Maithripala Sirisena has appointed 21 eminent lawyers as President’s Counsel. They will take oath of office following a ceremonial sitting at Supreme Court shortly. Thereafter, the appointees would be considered as President’s Counsel and are called to the Inner Bar.

President had appointed 21 senor lawyers including Navin Marapana, Chanaka de Silva, Nalinda Indatissa, Nalin Dissanayake, Maura Gunawardena, V.K. Choksy, Wasantha Gajanayake, Ajantha Rodrigo, Falmer Cassim, Jagath Wickramanayake, Sumith Senanayake, Seevali Amithirigala, Kapila Manamperi, Saliya Mohotti, Vincent Perera, Sanath Weeraratne, A.A.M. Illiyas and Swarna Perera as President's Counsel.

President’s Counsel is a professional rank and status conferred to the appointee by the President under Article 33 (cc) of the Constitution. According to the constitutional provision, attorneys-at-law who have reached eminence in the profession and have maintained high standards of conduct and professional rectitude are appointed as President’s Counsel by President.

 The constitution states every President’s Counsel appointed under this provision shall be entitled to all privileges as were hitherto enjoyed by a Queen’s Counsel.

from daily news
Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

Sri Lanka's most important news collector. We publish news from the trusted websites in the world.


Post a Comment