Constitutional Assembly to meet today

The Constitutional Assembly therefore, will meet at 10.30am today with Deputy Speaker Ananda Kumarasiri presiding.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe will table the expert panel report, which contains the draft constitutional proposals,  during the sitting. The views of political parties are also given in the report and the report will be available in all three languages.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya is the Chairman of the Constitutional Assembly, but since he is not available in the country, the Deputy Speaker will chair the sittings.  

Once the report is tabled, the floor will be opened for party leaders to express their views. The Constitutional Assembly will continue till 12.30pm and Parliament will commence at 1.30pm.

The members of the Panel of Experts included Prof. Suri Ratnapala, Prof. Austin Pulle, Prof. A.M Navaratna Bandara, N. Selvakkumaran, Prof. Camena Gunaratne, Prof. Kapila Perera, Suren Fernando, Niran Ankatell, Asoka Gunawardena and Chamindry Saparamadu. They were appointed based on nominations from different political parties in the Steering Committee.

The Steering Committee had conducted about 80 meetings since its first meeting on April 05, 2016.

Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

Sri Lanka's most important news collector. We publish news from the trusted websites in the world.


Post a Comment