Term of three Independent Commissions expire

New appointments are due to the Human Rights Commission, Public Service Commission and National Police Commission shortly.

The term of the members of the Human Rights Commission is due to end next Monday. The term of the Public Service Commission members will lapse next Sunday, while the term of the National Police Commission members lapsed last Sunday.

However, as per the 19th Amendment to the Constitution, the currently serving members of those Commissions will continue till the new appointments are made by the President upon the recommendation of the Constitutional Council.

Human Rights Commission Chairperson Dr. Deepika Udagama and members Lionel Fernando, Hameed Gazali Hussain, Saliya K. M. Peiris and Ambika Sathkunanadan were appointed on October 22, 2015 for a period of three years.

Public Service Commission Chairman Dharmasena Dissanayake and members A.Salam Abdul Waid, D. Shirantha Wijayatilake, Dr. Prathap Ramanujam, V. Jegarasasingam, Santi Nihal Seneviratne, S. Ranugge, D.L. Mendis and Sarath Jayathilake were appointed on October 21 for a period of three years.

The term of National Police Commission chaired by P.H. Manatunga ended last Sunday.

The Constitutional Council chaired by Speaker Karu Jayasuriya will meet soon to discuss the appointments to these Commissions. 

Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

Sri Lanka's most important news collector. We publish news from the trusted websites in the world.


Post a Comment