‘United National Front will vote against NCM’

The United National Front (UNF) Parliamentary Group yesterday unanimously decided to vote against the No Confidence Motion (NCM) against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, Power and Energy State Minister Ajith P. Perera said.

Speaking to journalists after participating in a special discussion between the Prime Minister and the NFF Parliamentary Group members in Temple Trees yesterday, the Minister said the NCM is not against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, but against the entire government.

“The President as the head of the government and the Cabinet Ministers represent the government. This has not targeted only the Prime Minister,” the Minister said.

“The former government had failed to conduct adequate investigations into serious crimes. Now all the investigations are in the final stages and rapidly progressing including the legal action against the responsible persons involved in the bond scam.

Therefore, this is a futile effort of the JO since the legal action have already been taken against wrongdoers, the Minister said.

He said that Prime Minister agreed to restructure and reform the Party. The party’s Parliamentary Group on Management and Policymaking and the members of the Working Committee will meet on April 7 and 8 to discuss this process further.

“The NCM will face sure defeat when it is taken up for debate on April 4. Then a draft law to establish a

new Anti-Corruption High Court will be presented to Parliament on April 5 as a part of the government’s mission for an expeditious and efficient administration of criminal justice,” the Minister said.

“MP. Ven. Athuraliye Rathna Thera also participated the discussion. The Thera did not hold different views and We all are in the common stand on this issue,” he said.

“Home Affairs Deputy Ministers JC Alawathugoda said all members in the NFF Parliamentary Group will vote to defeat the NCM against the Prime Minister. Lots of members expressed their pleasure at attending the debate to support the Premier on April 4,” the Minister said.

UNP MP Nalin Bandara said the UNF has majority of votes to defeat the motion. “It is revealed around 15 to 20 members of the SLFP will support us while the TNA will vote in favour of the Premier. We are sure that two or three members of the Pohottuwa party will also be with us on January 4,” he said.

UNP MP Harshana Rajakaruna said that the government and the UNP will be stronger with the victory on April 4.

Share on Google Plus

About Lankaimage lanka

Sri Lanka's most important news collector. We publish news from the trusted websites in the world.