President wary of some appointees

Ports and Shipping Minister, Mahinda Samarasinghe said the President was not happy with some of the commissioners appointed to the Office of Missing Persons (OMP).

“The President had questions with regard to whether some of them could act in an independent manner,”the Minister said addressing a media briefing at the SLFP Headquarters yesterday.

It is the Constitutional Council which is mandated to decide on the names and the President appoints members according to their recommendation.

The 19th Amendment however states that the President can postpone the appointments only for two weeks and thereafter he has to appoint whoever is nominated by the Constitutional Council, Samarasinghe said.

“The President had informed the relevant authorities of his views”, he added.

The President appointed Saliya Peiris PC as the Chairman of the OMP along with members; Jayatheepa Punniyamoorthy, Major General (Rtd.) Mohanti Antoinette Peiris, Dr Sriyani Nimalka Fernando, Mirak Raheem, Somasiri K Liyanage and Kanapathipillai Venthan on February 28.

Share on Google Plus

About Lankaimage lanka

Sri Lanka's most important news collector. We publish news from the trusted websites in the world.