New UNP office bearers before April 30

The United National Party (UNP) Parliamentary Group and Working Committee which met on Saturday, had decided to complete the appointment of office bearers of the Party before April 30, UNP Deputy General Secretary Minister Akila Viraj Kariyawasam said.

The Minister said a 12 member committee had been appointed to recommend new party office bearers and propose internal reforms and restructure.

The minister speaking to journalists in Colombo said out of the 12 members, 10 were elected by secret ballot.

“First it was decided to form the committee with both the Working Committee Members and Parliamentarians. But the Prime Minister himself instructed not to include the Working Committee Members to ensure greater transparency and democracy in the process,” he added.

The Minister said the 12 member-committee includes Navin Dissanayake, Ranjith Madduma Bandara, Ajith P.Perera,Mangala Samaraweera, Harin Fernando, Akila Viraj Kariyawasam, Eran Wickremeratne, Ruwan Wijewardene, Gayantha Karunathilake, Ashoka Priyantha, J.C. Alawathuwala and himself.

UNP Deputy Leader Sajith Premadasa and Assistant Leader Ravi Karunanayake were appointed to the committee as ex-officio members.

Also during Saturday’s meeting it had been decided that the party leadership should not be changed,

The minister said that however a decision was taken to enact changes to the other positions of the party. 

Share on Google Plus

About Lankaimage lanka

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.