Compensation from Four ministries to pay Kandy riot victims

Four Ministries will be involved in the payment of compensation towards damages caused during the recent unrest in Kandy according to a decision made by the government on the instructions of Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

They are the Ministry of Buddha Sasana, Ministry of Posts and Muslim Religious Affairs, Ministry of Rehabilitation and Resettlement and the ministry of Disaster Management.

Payment of compensation to Buddhist and Muslim places of worship will be made through the Ministry of Buddha Sasana and the Ministry of Muslim religious Affairs respectively. Compensation payments in respect of damages caused to properties of the general public will be made through the ministry of Rehabilitation and resettlement while the ministry of Disaster Management will make a common estimate of the damage caused to pay compensation. The Prime Minister had directed that all properties damaged should be fully rehabilitated within four months.

Share on Google Plus

About Lankaimage lanka

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.