12-month ban imposed on Australian Cricket Captain, Vice-Captain


A 12-month ban was imposed on Australian Cricket Captain Steve Smith and Vice- Captain David Warner for tampering the ball at the third Test in Cape Town, South Africa, yesterday.

Australian batsman Cameron Bancroft was also banned for 9-months.

Cricket Australia Chief Executive James Sutherland said that head Coach Darren Lehmann will remain in his post since he was not involved in the controversy.

Wicketkeeper Tim Paine will replace Steve Smiths position for the rest of the series and Matthew Renshaw, Glenn Maxwell and Joe Burns have been called up as replacements and will fly out to South Africa for the fourth Test, which begins in Johannesburg on Friday.

Share on Google Plus

About Lankaimage lanka

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.