LG polls: All schools closed on Friday

Education Ministry sources said that all schools will be closed on Friday (9) in view of the Local Government Election scheduled to be held on Saturday,(10).

Schools will re-open as usual on February 12,(Monday).

Besides, 19 schools and two Colleges of Education which are being used for election duties will be closed from today (7) until next Monday.

The 19 schools which are closed from today are D.S.Senanayake Vidyalaya, Colombo, Royal College, Colombo, Gnanodaya Maha Vidyalaya, Kalutara, St. John’s Maha Vidyalaya, Kalutara, Ranabima Rajakiya Vidyalaya, Kandy, Sangamitta Balika Vidyalaya, Matale, Gamini National School, Nuwara Eliya, Southlands Ladies College, Galle, Suvi National School, Hambantota, Jaffna Central College, Hindu College, Baticaloa, Vipulananda Maha Vidyalaya, Trincomalee, Maliyadewa Girls College, Kurunegala, Sir John Kotalawala Maha Vidyalaya, Kurunegala, Hindu College, Puttlum, Anuradhapura Central College, Viharamaha devi Balika Vidyalaya, Badulla, Royal College, Monaragala and Swarnajayanthi Maha Vidyalaya, Kegalle.

The two Colleges of Education are Pannala Gedara College of Education and Pulathisi National College of Education. 


Share on Google Plus

About Lankaimage lanka

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.