SL Institute of Service Management formed

Members of the elected Management Council to manage affairs of SLISM.

A new organization, Sri Lanka Institute of Service Management (SLISM) was formed on January 16 at the Sri Lanka Foundation Institute, Colombo 7 with the blessings of professionalsin service management of the public and private sectors, academics who are teaching and conducting research on service management, and service management graduates.

Conveners Yasa Karunaratne, former President of the Computer Society of Sri Lanka and Prof. Gamini Gunawardane of California State University, presented to the attendees of the inaugural meeting, the key objectives of establishing the SLISM.

They are, to promote public interest and to increase public awareness of the importance of having effective service management in Sri Lanka, to promote service management practices, education, training and research in service management, and to provide a forum for professionals and academics in service management to exchange ideas and best practices.

SLISM will publish a Sri Lanka Journal of Service Management (SLJSM) and a publication named The Service Manager which will take the form of practice guides for service managers on key practical issues faced by them.

In open discussions at the meeting, the attendees agreed on the need for an organization like SLISM as the Sri Lankan service sector contributes over 62 percent to the country’s GDP and the service sector including tourism and hospitality services, communication and IT, health care, public services, educational, banking, financial, and insurance services, transportation and distribution services, legal, accounting and other professional services, and retail services are expected to lead the national economic development efforts.

The following Management Council to manage affairs of SLISM was elected: President - Dr. Sunil Jayantha Navaratne, Vice President - Sandra de Zoysa, Secretary - Yasa Karunaratne, Treasurer - Nelson Nagasinghe, Editor - Prof. Gamini Gunawardane, Joint Associate Editors - Sameera Maheepala and Dr. Nilakshi Galahitiyawa, Executive Committee Members - Oshadee Alahapperuma (Service Industry Relations and Sponsorship Development), Dr. Saman Weerawansa (Educational and Training Programs), Pathum Waas (Membership Relations – Service Management Graduates and Students), and Ruwan Punchihewa (Membership Relations – Service Industry).

An Advisory Council of eminent professionals and academics was also elected.

Professional managers of services in the public and private sectors, and service management academics, researchers, and students are invited to contact the secretary Yasa Karunaratne on 0777760821 to become members of SLISM. 

Share on Google Plus

About Lankaimage lanka

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.