JO MPs enraged with Rajapaksas - SB

Minister S. B. Dissanayake with Chief Minister Sarath Ekanayake and Provincial Minister Thilina Bandara Tennakoon after handing over nominations. (Picture by Asela Kuruluwansa)

Parliamentarians in the Joint Opposition are today enraged with Mahinda, Namal and Basil for thwarting President Maithripala Sirisena’s efforts to unite the opposing SLFP factions, Social Empowerment Welfare and Kandyan Heritage Minister S.B. Dissanayake said.

He said the President had an earnest wish to enable the SLFP to contest the forthcoming election as a strong united group by joining hands with the Joint Opposition members.

The Minister made this observation speaking to the media after handing over nominations for the Patha Hewaheta Pradeshiya Sabha election at the Kandy Election’s office yesterday. He said the UPFA had no need to join hands with Wimal Weerawansa who is stuck neck deep in a pool of mud.

The SLFP will contest the election in coalition with all parties involved in the Podu Jana Eksath Peramuna government of 1994 including the Ceylon Workers Congress. 

Share on Google Plus

About Lankaimage lanka

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.