Privileges Committee to decide action against MPs

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya said disciplinary action against Joint Opposition MPs who made threatening comments to bomb Parliament will be decided at the Privileges Committee and moved in Parliament as a resolution.

The Speaker made this observation when Deputy Minister Ajith P. Perera questioned in Parliament yesterday on the delay in taking disciplinary action against MPs Wimal Weerawansa, Keheliya Rambukwella and Jayantha Samaraweera who spoke of bombing Parliament.

He requested the Speaker not to take the threatening comments of MP Weerawansa lightly given his motivations and his family connection to the previous incident of the grenade attack in Parliament in 1987.

“MP Weerawansa threatened to drop bombs on Parliament by air if the draft Constitution received the two thirds majority . MP Samaraweera had condoned this statement while MP Rambukwella had said that not only one but Parliament must be attacked with 100 bombs. We brought this matter to the attention of the Speaker earlier too, but are yet to see any disciplinary action against them,” he said. 

Share on Google Plus

About Lankaimage lanka

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.