President appoints new committee to implement government proposals on SAITM


The President Maithripala Sirisena today appointed a new nine-member committee chaired by Policy Planning and Economic Development Deputy Minister Dr. Harsha de Silva to and implement the proposals made by the government regarding the SAITM issue.

Members of the committee are:

1. National Policies and Economic Affairs Deputy Minister Dr. Harsha de Silva (Chair)

2. Health, Nutrition & Indigenous Medicine Ministry Secretary Janaka Sugathadasa

3. Higher Education and Highways Ministry Secretary D.C. Dissanayake

4. University Grants Commission (UGC) Chairman Professor Mohan de Silva

5. Sri Lanka Medical Council (SLMC) Chairman Professor Colvin Gunaratne

6. Colombo University Vice Chancellor Professor Lakshman Dissanayake

7. Sri Jayawardenapura University Vice Chancellor Professor Sampath Amaratunga

8. Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Colombo, Professor Jennifer Perera

9. Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Kelaniya, Professor Nilanthi de Silva

Furthermore, the Government Medical Officers’ Association (GMOA), the Faculty of Medicine Teachers’ Association and medical students/parents unions will serve as the observers, the government said in a statement.


Share on Google Plus

About Lankaimage lanka

Sri Lanka's most important news collector. We publish news from the trusted websites in the world.