Nominations for 93 LG bodies from Dec. 11-14

District Returning Officers will call for nominations for 93 Local government bodies from December 11-14, the Elections Commission announced yesterday.

The accepting of candidates’ deposits which began yesterday will end on December 13.

The 93 Local Government bodies include seven Municipal Councils, 18 Urban Councils and 68 Pradeshiya Sabhas.

Meanwhile, the Ministry of Provincial Councils and Local Government said that the Gazette Notifications that were subjected to amendments related to 40 LG bodies was presented to President Maithripala Sirisena to obtain his signature yesterday.

“The Gazette Notification will be re-issued with the President’s signature, Ministry Secretary Kamal Padmasiri said.

Election Commission sources said if the Gazette is published, then it was likely that polls can be held for 133 LG bodies on the same day.

The Court of Appeal on November 22 issued an interim injunction until December 4 preventing the implementation of the Gazette Notification which includes the number of members and the demarcations of the Local Government bodies.

The Appeal Court stayed the Gazette notice issued by the Minister of Provincial Councils and Local Government in February and it refers to only 203 of the 336 LG bodies.

In the meantime, the Elections Commission Chairman proposed to hold the election for the 133 Local Government bodies which had not been affected by the Gazette. There were typos in the gazette in relation to 40 LG bodies and amendments need to do be done by re-issuing the gazette notification.

Accordingly, not wanting to further delay the polls, the Commission decided to issue the Gazette to announce nomination dates for 93 Local Government bodies.

Following are the 93 Local Government bodies that the Elections Commission had called for nominations, Colombo district - Dehiwala-Mt. Lavinia MC, Maharagama UC, Boralesgamuwa UC, Gampaha district - Wattala-Mabola UC, Minuwangoda UC, Ja-Ela UC, Peliyagoda UC, Wattala PS, Biyagama PS,Kalutara district - Panadura UC, Horana UC, Beruwala UC, Bandaragama PS, Agalawatta PS, Kandy district - Nawalapitiya UC, Pasbage korale PS, Matale district - Matale MC, Nuwara Eliya district Nuwara Eliya MC, Thalawakele-Lindula UC, Galle district - Ambalangoda UC, Hikkaduwa UC, Balapitiya PS, Neluwa PS, Akmimana PS, Matara district - Weligama UC, Pasgoda PS, Malimbada PS, Hakmana PS, Hambantota district - Wiraketiya PS, Angunukolapalessa PS, Sooriyawewa PS, Hamabantota PS, Jaffna district - Chavakachccheri UC, Batticalo district-Erawur UC, Erawurpattu PS, Koralepattu PS, Manmune PS, Ampara district - Akkarepattu MC, Dehiattakandiya PS, Namal oya PS, Padiyathalawa PS, Nawathanweli PS, Sammanthturai PS, Irakkamam PS, Akkareipattu PS, Addalachchenei PS, Alayadawembu PS, Lahugala PS, Kareithiwu PS, Trincomalee district - Werugal PS, Seruwila PS, Gomarankadawala PS, Padawi-Siripura PS, Trincomalee town and Kadawath PS, Thamabalagamuwa PS, Kinniya PS, Kurunegala district -Kobeigane PS, Puttalam district - Wanathawilluwa PS, Anuradhapura district - Galnewa PS, Polonnaruwa district - Hingurakgoda PS, Medirigiriya PS, Lankapura DS, Dimbulagala PS, Badulla district - Badulla MC, Bandarawela MC, Haputale UC, Mahiyangana PS, Migahakiwula PS, Kandaketiaya PS, Lunugala PS, Badulla PS, Bandarawela PS, Ella PS, Haldumimulla PS, Monaragala district - Bibila PS, Siyambalaanduwa PS, Monaragala PS, Katharagama PS, Ratnapura district - Ratnapura MC, Balangoda UC, Eheliyagoda PS, Ratnapura PS, Weligepola PS, Nivithigala PS, Ayagama PS, Kalawana PS and Kegalle district - Warakapola PS, Galigamuwa PS, Kegalle PS, Aranayaka PS, Yatiyanthota PS, Bulathkohupitiya PS, Dehiowita PS. 

Share on Google Plus

About Lankaimage lanka

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.