New Committee to resolve residual matters

The Committee headed by Deputy Minister Dr. Harsha de Silva appointed by President Maithripala Sirisena to look into the problem relating to the awarding of Medical degrees by the SAITM in Malabe has submitted an acceptable and practicable set of proposals to resolve the problem.

Since various parties had proposed that further discussions should be held to bring those proposals to a level acceptable to all parties including medical students of state universities, university dons and parents of medical students, the President has decided to appoint another committee comprising all parties to implement proposals made by the earlier committee and look into any outstanding issues and submit proposals for resolving them too the Presidential Secretariat said in a press release yesterday.

The release signed by Acting Secretary to the President, S.Abeysinghe further states that the proposals already made were further discussed at a meeting chaired by President Sirisena and attended by Vice-chancellors, Deans of Medical Facilities GMOA representatives and other parties on November 3.

The new Committee is entrusted with the responsibility of updating and implementing the proposed solutions taking matters raised at the subsequent meeting into consideration.

The release said ,the President, while inviting any party having a problem relating to the proposals made and already implemented by the government for a further discussion to resolve them, has earnestly requested all parties, including the parents of medical students to shun satyagraha and protest campaigns and render their co-operation and assistance to implement future actions.

The President also hoped that all students in state medical facilities would consider the above mentioned positive steps, and their own future as well as the country future and participate in their academic activities.

The composition of the committee appointed to implement the proposed solution to the SAITM issue and consider any outstanding issues is as follows.

Deputy Minister Dr. Harsha de Silva (Chairman), Secretary Ministry of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine Janaka Sugathadasa, Secretary Ministry of Higher Education and Highways D.C. Dissanayake, UGC Chairman Prof. Mohan de Silva, SLMC Chairman Prof. Colvin Gunaratne,Colombo University Vice Chancellor Prof.Lakshman Dissanayake, Sri Jayawardenepura University Vice Chancellor Prof. Sampath Amaratunga, Colombo University Dean Prof.(Mrs) Jennifer Perera and Kelaniya University Dean Prof. (Mrs) Nilanthi de Silva. One representative each from the GMOA, Medical Faculty Lecturers Association and Medical Students Parents’ Association will act as observers. 

Share on Google Plus

About Lankaimage lanka

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.