Northern Province’s Anitha sets new record in pole vault

Northern Provinces Anitha Jegadeeswaran who set up a new record

Anitha Jegadiswaran of Northern Province set up a new record in the pole vault event on the first day of the 43rd National Sports Festival which began at Kotawila grounds Matara yesterday under the patronage of Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Anitha had a leap of 3.48 meters in the event erasing her own record of 3.46 metres established at Diyagama a few weeks ago. Anoma Karunawansa who won the event at the National Sports Festival in Nawalapitiya ended up in second position.

Of the five finals worked off on the first day Sabaragamuwa won 2 golds while Northern Province, Central Province and Western Province bagged a gold each.

The other athletic events will be conducted today and tomorrow in addition to Boxing Soccer, Weightlifting and Volleyball which will also be held in Matara.Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe declared open the games after a seven gun salute and along with Sports Minister Dayasiri Jayasekera, Deputy Minister H. M. M. Haris took the salute of the march past of the athletes and officials.

The games torch was lit by two veteran athletes of the Southern Province Sujith Rohitha and Dhammika Menike and the referees's oath was given by Senior Technical officer Palitha Jayathilake.


First day's results: Pole Vault (Women) – Anitha Jegadeeswaran 3.48 metres (Northern Province) Anoma Karunawansa 3.10 metres (Eastern Province) S. D. Ranasinghe 3.00 metres (Western Province).

5,000 metres (Men)1. U. K. N. Ratnayake 17.08.06 minutes (Sabaragamuwa) A. N. L. Ariyadasa 17.35.00 minutes (Sabaragamuwa) 3 . L. H. S Anusha 17.50.00 minutes (Uva).

5,000 meters (Women) 1. Nilani Ratnayake 17.09.06 minutes (Sabaragamuwa) 2. N. L. Ariyadasa 17.30.00 Minutes (Sarabaragamuwa) 3. L. H. S. Anusha 17.50.00 minutes (Uva).

10,000 meters (Men) 1. D. L. Samarajeewa 31.14.22 minutes (Central), 2. G. K. Bandara 31.18.98 minutes (Central) 3. P. A. P. Maduranga 31.33.03 minutes (Sabaragamuwa).

Putt shot (Women) 1. Tharika Fernando 14.35 metres (Western), 2. M. N. D. Muthunayake 12.19 metres (Central), 3. P. P. S. Clarence 11.94 metres (Uva). 


Share on Google Plus

About Lankaimage lanka

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.