The government plans to establish nine Free Trade Zones (FTZs) around the country, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe said.

Addressing the gathering at the 40 year anniversary celebrations of the Board of Investment of Sri Lanka (BOI) at the Katunayake Export Processing Zone, the Prime Minister said the government has managed to achieve political, social and economic stability within the country.

He said that whilst inviting foreign investors, the country also needs to produce more local investors to compete with the outer world.

President Maithripala Sirisena and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe opened an exhibition centre and unveiled a sculpture of former President J. R. Jayewardene.

Development Strategies and International Trade Minister Malik Samarawickrema and International Trade State Minister Sujeewa Senasinghe were also present.



Share on Google Plus

About Lankaimage lanka

Sri Lanka's most important news collector. We publish news from the trusted websites in the world.


Post a Comment