Eastern PC term ends

The Eastern Provincial Council (EPC) ends its term by midnight today (30) and its power will come under Provincial Governor Rohitha Bogollagama from Monday (1).

The EPC term started in 2012 and it is significant that the council is handled by two Chief Ministers. Accordingly, the council was handled from 2012 to April 2015 by Abdul Majeed while the present Chief Minister is handling the council from April 2015.

The EPC has 26 seats and the Tamil National Alliance (TNA) holds 11, the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) 8, the United National Party (UNP) 4 and the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) 3. 

Share on Google Plus

About Lankaimage lanka

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.