Recent News

Four member ministerial committee to look into train strike


A four member Cabinet sub-committee was appointed by President Maithipala Siripala to look into the demands of the railway trade union strikers, today.

The committee comprising of Health Minister Rajitha Senaratne, Education Minister Akila Viraj Kariyawasam, Public Administration and Management Minister Ranjith Madduma Bandara, was appointed to be chaired by Special Assignments Minister Sarath Amunugama.

The railway trade unions launched an indefinite strike in protest of issues related to recruiting assistant engine drivers, last week.

Thousands of commuters were stranded due to the trade union strike.