Recent News

Uva PC defeats Draft 20th Amendment Bill

The vote on the Draft 20th Amendment to the Constitution was defeated by seven votes when the draft Bill was taken up for vote in the Uva Provincial Council yesterday.

Twelve councilors including Uva Province Chief Minister Chamara Sampatha Dassanayake, Provincial Ministers Anura Vidanagamage, Senthil Thondaman and Wimal Galagamaarachchi voted against the Bill while five Provincial Councillors representing the United National Party voted in favour of the Bill.